About Kenya School of Government Baringo Campus

By |

About Kenya School of Government Baringo Campus

About Kenya School of Government Baringo Campus | Kenya School of Government Baringo Campus Informations
Under the Kenya School of Government Act No 9 of 2012 the School changed the name once again to Kenya School of Government (KSG) Baringo Mandate, Vision and Mission
Mandate: To provide learning and development programmes to build capacity for public service
Vision: Excellence in public service capacity development
Mission: To contribute to the transformation of the public service by inculcating national values and developing core skills and competences for quality service delivery
The journey of K.S.G Baringo dates back to 1968 when the then County Council of Central Rift in collaboration with a German Foundation (Friedrick Ebert Stifthung) established the centre and named it – Baringo District Training Centre (BDTC). The centre was officially opened in 1969 by the retired 2nd President of the Republic of Kenya His Excellency Hon. Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi. C.G.H
The mandate of the centre was basically to train the local community in various fields that include:- general agriculture, carpentry and masonry.
From this humble background, the school has since experienced significant transformation process that includes change of name and mandate.
For instance, in 1979, the school changed name from Baringo District Training Centre (BDTC) to Baringo District Development Institute (BDDI) with expanded
mandate of training District Officers, Heads of Departments, Chiefs and Assistant Chiefs on District Focus Strategy for Rural Development.
In 2004, the school was re-named Government Training Institute (GTI) under the then Ministry of State for Public Service. Its mandate expanded to include training of a cross section of middle cadre civil servants in all Ministries and local Authorities.
Kenya School of Government Baringo is located in the heart of Kabarnet town; the Headquarters of Baringo County. Is about 300 kms North West of Nairobi.
The school is well served with a good road network and can be accessed through Nakuru — Kabarnet road (about l4Okms) or Eldoret — Kabarnet toard (about 90kms)
The process of ISO Certification started in November 2009 when the then Permanent Secretary for Ministry of State for Public Service Mr. Titus Ndambuki, instructed that the process be undertaken. After the instruction, the school marshaled resources and a number of activities were undertaken; among the activities that led to the certification process were: Top Management training, implementers training, auditors training, internal and external audits. (The activities are detailed in earlier reports).
The school sought the services of the Kenya Bureau of Standards Certification body, which did a certification audit and eventually certified the school. The ISO 9001:2008 Certificate was issued on 12th November, 2012 and will run for a period of 3 years. The certificate was issued to the then Government training Institute Baringo, hence, the 2rtfficate still bears the old name.
The certification contract has details of the conditions under which the school will remain ISO 9001:2008 certified. The school’s contractual obligations include continuous improvement through continuous audits, training and improvement on quality. This requires both monetary and other resources.

See Also:

Quick Links:

List Of Public Universities

University of Nairobi
Moi University
Kenyatta University
Egerton University
Maseno University
Multimedia University of Kenya
Meru University of Science and Technology
Muranga University of Technology
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
Technical University Of Mombasa TUM Karibu
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
Chuka University
Laikipia University
Machakos University
Kirinyaga University
Karatina University
South Eastern Kenya University
University of Kabianga
University Of Eldoret

List Of Private universities

United States International University Africa (USIU – Africa)
Mount Kenya University (MKU)
Uzima University College
Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)
University of Eastern Africa Baraton (UEAB)
Daystar University
Africa Nazarene University
Scott Christian University
Kabarak University
KAG East University
Strathmore University
Zetech University
Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology
Pan Africa Christian University
Kenya Methodist University
Adventist University of Africa
Gretsa University
Great Lakes University of Kisumu
Presbyterian University of East Africa
St. Paul’s University
KCA University
Africa International University
Riara University
Management University of Africa
Amref International University (AMIU)
KUCCPS Student Portal : KUCCPS Application Portal

0 thoughts on “About Kenya School of Government Baringo Campus

  1. erick mabeya

    good afternoon
    am interested in doing SMC
    Please give me detailes on the same.