About Kenya School of Monetary Studies

About Kenya School of Monetary Studies

About Kenya School of Monetary Studies | Read on the History of Kenya School of Monetary Studies . Details of the establishment of Kenya School of Monetary Studies

Background & Mandate

Kenya School of Monetary Studies (KSMS) was established as a School of the Central Bank of Kenya and registered in 1997 as a corporate entity, limited by guarantee; under the Companies Act (Chapter 486 of the Laws of Kenya); with the primary mandate to build capacity for the banking industry and support the Bank deliver on its core mandate of fostering a stable and well-functioning financial system.

This was in response to the bank failures experienced in 1980/1990s, which were mainly attributed to inadequate staff with requisite skills in banking, financial management, implementation of economic reforms and inadequate postgraduate economists required to formulate economic policies. The Central Bank of Kenya and the Ministry of Finance therefore found it necessary to establish KSMS as a training institution dedicated to offering specialized education and training programs in banking, finance, economics and other related studies, which were not available in other training institutions and universities.

The school, which started off by taking over short term management and skill development programmes hitherto run by the defunct College of Banking and Finance (CBF), has continued to offer demand driven short term management development courses and filled in gaps for advanced knowledge and education in long term postgraduate programs tailored specifically for the financial sector.

Vision & Mission

See Also:

List Of Public Universities

University of Nairobi

Moi University

Kenyatta University

Egerton University

Maseno University

Multimedia University of Kenya

Meru University of Science and Technology

Muranga University of Technology

Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology

Technical University Of Mombasa TUM Karibu

Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology

Dedan Kimathi University of Technology

Chuka University

Laikipia University

Machakos University

Kirinyaga University

Karatina University

South Eastern Kenya University

University of Kabianga

University Of Eldoret

Quick Links:

List Of Private universities

United States International University Africa (USIU – Africa)

Mount Kenya University (MKU)

Uzima University College

Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)

University of Eastern Africa Baraton (UEAB)

Daystar University

Africa Nazarene University

Scott Christian University

Kabarak University

KAG East University

Strathmore University

Zetech University

Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology

Pan Africa Christian University

Kenya Methodist University

Adventist University of Africa

Gretsa University

Great Lakes University of Kisumu

Presbyterian University of East Africa

St. Paul’s University

KCA University

Africa International University

Riara University

Management University of Africa

Amref International University (AMIU)

KUCCPS Student Portal : KUCCPS Application Portal

One thought on “About Kenya School of Monetary Studies

  1. Smith Mnkhamanga

    am enquiring if about 2019 training calendar. I sent you several emails but to no avail.

    Kind regards,


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *