Karatina University School of Agriculture

By |

Karatina University School of Agriculture & Biotechnology

Karatina University School of Agriculture – Check the list of courses offered by the School of Agriculture & Biotechnology…
The School of Agriculture and Biotechnology aims at training highly skilled manpower for the Kenyan Agricultural sector. The School currently offers several undergraduate programs that include Horticulture; Food Science and Nutrition; Agricultural Economics and Resource Management; Agricultural Extension and Rural Development.
We endeavour to equip our students with hands on experience through extensive practical sessions in our laboratory. Our students also gain more experience through practical lessons in the university farm; and by positive engagement with the farming community that neighbours the university.
Karatina University is situated in a rich agricultural area of Nyeri County with small scale farmers engaging in horticulture, tea and coffee farming, keeping of dairy cattle, goats for milk, chicken, rabbits, bees and fish farming.
We also offer Diploma and Certificate courses in Tea Technology.
The School comprises of three departments namely:-
– Food Science and Nutrition
– Agricultural Resource Economics & Economics
– Crop Science
We train our students not just to be employees but also employers. We equip them with relevant skills and encourage them to use their extensive knowledge in establishing and running gainful Agricultural enterprises. We also prepare them to become researchers and scholars in Agriculture; so that they help in generation of more knowledge.
However some of the key employers in the Agricultural Sector include: The Horticultural industry locally and globally; vegetable, flower and fruit enterprises; Relevant Government of Kenya Ministries; Public, Private, Tertiary and Secondary training institutions locally and globally; Public and Private Research Institutions e.g. KARI, TRF, CRF, KEFRI, KEPHIS and other regional and international organizations; Relevant Non-governmental organizations; Industrial crops based firms; Gene Banks and Genetic conservation centres.
Programs Offered:
– Phd in Plant Protection
– Masters in Horticultural Sciences
– Post-Graduate Diploma In Tea Science And Management
– Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Extension Education
– Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics & Resource Management
– Bachelor of Science in Horticultural Science & Management
– Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Nutrition
– Diploma in Horticulture
– Diploma in Agriculture
– Diploma in Tea Husbandry and Management
– Diploma in Tea Trade and Economics
– Diploma in Tea Processing and Quality Assurance
Karatina University has intakes in January, May, and September for Full Time, Weekend and Evening classes.
Application Procedure: Application forms can be obtained from Karatina University, Main Campus, School of Business, Karatina Town
Application fee is Ksh. 3,000 for PhD programmes, Ksh. 2,000 for Masters Programmes, Ksh. 1,000 for Undergraduate Programmes and Ksh. 500 for Diploma & and Certificate Programmes. Payments should be made in Bankers Cheque in favour of Karatina University or direct deposit to the University Account: Equity Bank, Karatina Branch, Ac. No. 0040298291603
Duly filled application forms (with relevant certificates and application payment slip attached) should be sent to:
 The Registrar
(Academic, Research and Student Affairs)
P.O. Box 1957 – 10101
Or Email: admissions@karu.ac.ke
See Also:
Karatina University School of Business
Karatina University School of Education & Social Sciences
Karatina University School of Natural Resources & Environmental Studies
Karatina University School of Pure and Applied Sciences

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.