Machakos University Department of ECE and ECT

By |

Machakos University Department of ECE and ECT (Educational Communication & Technology)

Machakos University Department of ECE and ECT- Details:

About Machakos University Department of ECE and ECT

The Department of Educational Communication & Technology was established in 2014 to offer teaching methods to teachers. The department of Educational Communication & Technology offers courses in Instructional Technology as its core
business. These courses cover all the Subject Methods for the subjects offered in pre-primary, primary, high schools and tertiary colleges.
The courses are designed to prepare students for a career as professional designers of Instructional Systems, Educators, subject methods specialists, educational quality and standards officers or managers of Instructional Technology. The department also offers programmes for Masters degrees in Instructional Technology, Science Education, Mathematics Education, Language Education, Social Studies and Business Education. The department also offers a Doctor of Philosophy Programme in Instructional Technology.
Early childhood education was joined to the department of Educational Communication and Technology in December, 2017 having been calved out from the department of Special Needs, Early Childhood and Educational Psychology. In early childhood education, students do a total integration of practical learning with the theoretical within an inter-disciplinary content. All Programmes in ECE are self-contained except for the University Common Units which are done outside the Department. Early childhood educators play an important role in a child’s development.
They inspire young minds, expose them to the joys of learning, and give them the foundation for lifelong success. It has been well established that early years are significant for the overall development of children. Research in neuroscience has shown that early years are very significant in an individual’s life due to rapid brain development. The early years are ‘critical periods’ for development of various competencies since synaptic proliferation and their pruning takes place at this time depending upon the type of care the child receives and the experiences she has.
The first Chair of Department was Dr. Francis Mutua who is currently the coordinator Teaching Practice. Dr. Peter Kibet Koech is the current Chairperson of the department. The department has a total of 4 full-time teaching staff and 12 part-time Faculty who are well versed in their areas of specialization and who have published widely.

Machakos University Department of ECE and ECT Courses Offered


  • A holder of a Master degree from a recognized University in areas of specialization relevant to disciplines in the school of Education
  •  Must have covered at-least five (5) Units at M.Ed level in area of specialization with B and above or equivalent grade Must show ability to undertake academic research in the areas of specialization.


  • Holders of Bachelor’s Degree with 2nd Class Honour’s (Upper Division) from a recognized institution.
  • Those with Second Class (Lower Division) may be considered on condition that they have Grade C and above in units relevant to their specialization


  • Holders of Bachelor’s Degree with 2nd Class Honour’s (Upper Division) from a recognized institution.
  • Those with Second Class (Lower Division) may be considered on condition that they have Grade C and above in units relevant to their specialization


  • Minimum of C+ (plus) in KCSE or equivalent OR minimum of C (plain) in KCSE or equivalent with a Diploma in ECDE


  • its equivalent with an overall pass of credit or distinction.


  • Minimum of C+ (plus) in KCSE or equivalent with at least C + (plus) in two teaching subjects and C+ (plus) in Mathematics


Paid Link Ad
  • minimum of C (plain) in KCSE or equivalent with a Diploma in Education and at least C + (plus) in two teaching subjects

See Also:

See Also:

List Of Public Universities
University of Nairobi
Moi University
Kenyatta University
Egerton University
Maseno University
Multimedia University of Kenya
Meru University of Science and Technology
Muranga University of Technology
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
Technical University Of Mombasa TUM Karibu
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
Chuka University
Laikipia University
Machakos University
Kirinyaga University
Karatina University
South Eastern Kenya University
University of Kabianga
University Of Eldoret
List Of Private universities
United States International University Africa (USIU – Africa)
Mount Kenya University (MKU)
Uzima University College
Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)
University of Eastern Africa Baraton (UEAB)
Daystar University
Africa Nazarene University
Scott Christian University
Kabarak University
KAG East University
Strathmore University
Zetech University
Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology
Pan Africa Christian University
Kenya Methodist University
Adventist University of Africa
Gretsa University
Great Lakes University of Kisumu
Presbyterian University of East Africa
St. Paul’s University
KCA University
Africa International University
Riara University
Management University of Africa
Amref International University (AMIU)
KUCCPS Student Portal : KUCCPS Application Portal

List Of Technical and Vocational Education and Training Institutions

Africa Digital Media Institute
AirSwiss International College
Amboseli Institute of Hospitality and Technology 
Kenya Institute of Highways and Building Technology (KIHBT)- Nairobi
Adept College of Professional Studies – Nakuru
African Institute of Research and Development Studies, Bandari College
Baraton Teachers’ Training College – Nandi Central Kapsabet
Cascade Institute of Hospitality – Thika
Eldoret Polytechnic – Eldoret
Emma Daniel Arts Training Institute (EDATI)
Gusii Institute of Technology
Kisii National Polytechnic
Harvard Institute of Development Studies – Thika
ICT Fire and Rescue – Thika
International Centre of Technology (ICT-Thika)
Intraglobal Training Institute
Jaffery Institute of Professional Studies – Mombasa
Kabete National Polytechnic
Kagumo Teachers Training College
Kaiboi Technical Training Institute
Kenya Forestry College – Londiani

List Of Kenya Public Universities Application Forms

Chuka University Application Form
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology  Application Form
Egerton University Application Form
Jomo Kenyatta University Application Form
Karatina University Application Form
Kenyatta University Application Form
Kirinyaga University Application Form
Laikipia University Application Form
Machakos University Application Form
Maseno University Application Form
Masinde Muliro University Application Form
Moi University Application Form
Multimedia University Of Kenya Application Form
South Eastern Kenya University Application Form
Technical University Of Mombasa Application Form
The University Of Eldoret Application Form
University Of Kabianga Application Form
University Of Nairobi Application Form