SEKU Department of Hydrology & Aquatic Sciences

By |

SEKU Department of Hydrology and Aquatic Sciences

SEKU Department of Hydrology & Aquatic Sciences – Read details below…
The Department of Hydrology and Aquatic Sciences is one of the three Departments in the School of Environment,Water and Natural Resources of the South Eastern Kenya University. The Department was created with an objective of spearheading training and research in the field of hydrology and water resources, with emphasis on the development and management of water resources in arid and semi arid lands of Kenya.
The Department is currently offering Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Hydrology and Water Resources Management, Master of Science (MSc) in Integrated Water Resources and Watershed Management. Diploma course in Integrated Water Resources Management has been approved and will be launched in the coming year. Upcoming courses include the Diploma in Applied Hydrology. These courses provide an integrated coverage of both the scientific, technical, social-economic and political aspects of water resources planning and management. The main goal is to provide students with skills and knowledge that will enable them pursue career in water resources management or undertake postgraduate studies in specialized areas in hydrology and water resources and wastewater management.
To be a recognised Centre of Excellence for the provision of high quality training, research, appropriate technological innovations, extension services and consultancies in hydrology and water resources management.
To provide quality undergraduate and postgraduate training to students aspiring to become high calibre professionals in the field of hydrology and water resources management and also carry out innovative hydrological and water resources research and consultancy services embodying the aspirations of a dynamic society, while inculcating strong research, outreach, and innovation culture within an efficient team of academic, technical and administrative staff.
In order to achieve customer satisfaction and continual improvement of performance, the Department of Hydrology and Water Resources Management is committed to be a top notch reference centre in water resources training, research, technological development and outreach services.  In pursuit of this commitment, the Department shall strive to achieve the following quality objectives:
1    Develop and frequently improve curriculums and their implementation of the curriculum of its undergraduate and postgraduate programmes by planning one month before the start of every Semester.
2    Regularly participatorily review the implementation of research projects.
3    Raise the number of publications in referred scientific journals.
4    Progress the integration of ICT in research, teaching, knowledge sourcing and dissemination.
•    Train students aspiring to pursue career in the water resources sector by offering educational programmes in hydrology and water resources management at certificate, diploma, undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
•    Conduct innovative research in the field of hydrology and water resources management and, disseminate information to stakeholders in the water sector through publication of research findings in local and international journals.
•    Offer extension services to local communities on issues related to water resources development, conservation and management.
•    Provide consultancy services to both public and private sector players in the water sector.
The Department is currently offering a BSc degree course in Hydrology and Water Resources Management and, MSc degree in Integrated Water Resources and Basin Management. The following are the upcoming courses:
•    Diploma in Applied Hydrology;
•    Diploma in Integrated Water Resources Management;
•    MSc in Water Resources and Wastewater Planning and Management;
•    PhD in Integrated Water Resources and Basin Management;
The department is also developing various short-courses in water supply and sanitation technology, wastewater management, watershed Management,  applications of GIS and Remote Sensing, irrigation and rainwater harvesting, among others. Tailor-made short courses will be targeting specific groups.  These short courses will aim at addressing specific community needs thus, an important contribution by the department to the community.
See Also:
SEKU Department of Geology and Meteorology
SEKU Department of Environmental Science and Land Resources Management

See Also:

List Of Public Universities
University of Nairobi
Moi University
Kenyatta University
Egerton University
Maseno University
Multimedia University of Kenya
Meru University of Science and Technology
Muranga University of Technology
Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
Technical University Of Mombasa TUM Karibu
Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology
Chuka University
Laikipia University
Machakos University
Kirinyaga University
Karatina University
South Eastern Kenya University
University of Kabianga
University Of Eldoret
List Of Private universities
United States International University Africa (USIU – Africa)
Mount Kenya University (MKU)
Uzima University College
Catholic University of Eastern Africa (CUEA)
University of Eastern Africa Baraton (UEAB)
Daystar University
Africa Nazarene University
Scott Christian University
Kabarak University
KAG East University
Strathmore University
Zetech University
Kiriri Women’s University of Science and Technology
Pan Africa Christian University
Kenya Methodist University
Adventist University of Africa
Gretsa University
Great Lakes University of Kisumu
Presbyterian University of East Africa
St. Paul’s University
KCA University
Africa International University
Riara University
Management University of Africa
Amref International University (AMIU)
KUCCPS Student Portal : KUCCPS Application Portal

List Of Technical and Vocational Education and Training Institutions

Africa Digital Media Institute
AirSwiss International College
Amboseli Institute of Hospitality and Technology 
Kenya Institute of Highways and Building Technology (KIHBT)- Nairobi
Adept College of Professional Studies – Nakuru
African Institute of Research and Development Studies, Bandari College
Baraton Teachers’ Training College – Nandi Central Kapsabet
Cascade Institute of Hospitality – Thika
Eldoret Polytechnic – Eldoret
Emma Daniel Arts Training Institute (EDATI)
Gusii Institute of Technology
Kisii National Polytechnic
Harvard Institute of Development Studies – Thika
ICT Fire and Rescue – Thika
International Centre of Technology (ICT-Thika)
Intraglobal Training Institute
Jaffery Institute of Professional Studies – Mombasa
Kabete National Polytechnic
Kagumo Teachers Training College
Kaiboi Technical Training Institute
Kenya Forestry College – Londiani

List Of Kenya Public Universities Application Forms

Chuka University Application Form
Dedan Kimathi University of Technology  Application Form
Egerton University Application Form
Jomo Kenyatta University Application Form
Karatina University Application Form
Kenyatta University Application Form
Kirinyaga University Application Form
Laikipia University Application Form
Machakos University Application Form
Maseno University Application Form
Masinde Muliro University Application Form
Moi University Application Form
Multimedia University Of Kenya Application Form
South Eastern Kenya University Application Form
Technical University Of Mombasa Application Form
The University Of Eldoret Application Form
University Of Kabianga Application Form
University Of Nairobi Application Form

Paid Link Ad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *